into the deep

from up here
those things look scary
a face
a dragon
a monster
I close my eyes
so they can’t see me
and splash quickly back to shore

diving under
quiet
surface sounds muffled, disappear
I look up
light dancing on the ripples
of the current

down here
the light is dim
green
I feel my way
finding treasures
sand dollars, seashells
an old shipwreck
covered in rust and barnacles
mostly obscured
by the murk

I only see what I need to see
don’t know the rest
don’t need to know

feel the cool water slide through my fingers
deliciously smooth
I’m a fish now
twisting and flexing my sleek body
a flash of silver
at home in the deep

vast
unending
arms open wide
an embrace
stretching out
I dissolve
ancient
eternal
as it was in the beginning
it is now and ever shall be
life without end
amen
amen

This entry was posted in deep thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

