peanut butter french toast

Today I pulled out your griddle, from way up high – the cabinet I can’t reach unless I stand on a stool.

There were cobwebs on it.  It hasn’t been moved in at least two years, three months, and five days.  You’ve been gone a long time, JJ.

When I washed it I noticed the faint smell of peanut butter.  It made me smile in recognition.  Peanut butter french toast was the last thing you cooked on that griddle.

Even though you’re gone, your presence is still everywhere, in places unexpected and surprising.  Where will I find you next?

This entry was posted in Dear JJ, Remembering. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to peanut butter french toast

  1. lhorning1 says:

    Love. 🙂 Isn’t it funny the random places that he shows up?! Coop and I love you and Russell so much, and also know how proud I am of you. Much love to you my Seeeester.
    xoxo
    Yaya

    • Jill says:

      It is. He lingers here…everywhere. I loved that I noticed the peanut butter smell. For a second I felt like he was standing next to me, laughing.

  2. LD says:

    Oh Jill……..This is so special…..made me cry.

  3. LD says:

    Joe tells a similar story of when his pet dog died. Joe was young and working in a grocery store and not thinking of the dog. He was straightening up the dairy case, and suddenly he felt a warm breath, and then followed by the smell of his dog after eating his favorite dog food. He has told me that story several times and always mentions how vivid the smell was.
    Just like the dog, JJ made his presence known when you were not suspecting him. It is a good thing, Jill.

Leave a Reply

